Five Principles of Unity Parallel Toltec Agreements, Part 5

The Four Agreements and the follow-up book, The Fifth Agreement by Don Miguel Ruiz and Don Jose Ruiz is probably one of the most familiar contemporary New Thought books read today.  Many of the ‘agreements’ are frequently quoted in articles and talks when describing attributes to follow for a fulfilling life.

But, have you ever heard that the five Toltec agreements parallel the five principles of Unity?  Rev. Temple Hayes explains the similarities in the following excerpts from the May/June Unity Magazine.

Give Me Five:  How the Five Principles of Unity Parallel the Five Toltec Agreements
~ Rev. Temple Hayes

NOTE:  Finally Part of a five-part series of select excerpts from the May/June Unity Magazine article.

Fifth Principle / Fourth Agreement

The fifth Unity principle:

I do and give my best by living the Truth that I know.  I make a difference!

… goes along with the fourth agreement:

Always do your best.

As James 4:8 says, “Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you.”  This means we have to take action first.  Life is not a waiting room.  Whatever we affirm that we have, we must be and become.

My teacher in ministerial school always implored us to do our best.  “Average is the best of the worst and the worst of the best,” she’d say.  “Strive not only to do your best, but also to give each moment your full attention.”  Whether I’m speaking in public, visiting friends, or connecting with a loved one, I give my full attention as much as possible.  That enables me to do my best.

As a minister and teacher, I learned years ago not to go back and question my talk after I had spoken.  This is also the way to be in the practice of your daily life, knowing that at the moment you gave the best of you.  If you continue to question what you said in any situation, then you’re in the past, which means you’re missing the greatest moment you have ever lived to do your best — the amazing power of right now.

Read more about Temple Hayes  

If you missed the first parts of this series, you can read the here:






Spread the love and share with your friends:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.